Skip to content

Day 2 of Canada 2012

June 29, 2012

So onwards, to my first experience of waking up in Canada- and it wasn’t an unpleasant experience. Was up early, but I wasn’t surprised given the 4 hours gained yesterday. Checked my email in the TV room (old habits die hard) and reserached things to do with my day. Went to Atlantic Superstore for some breakfast, and discovered that the bakery is both decent and surprisingly cheap. Came back with a Cheese Twist and a litre of milk, which I promptly demolished in the hostel kitchen, before dropping my bag in my room and heading out.

My first stop was the Immigration Museum at Pier 21, which is where everyone who arrived from Europe via the Atlantic between the 1920s and 1970s would have passed through. The museum cost $8.25 for entry, and in all truth it was pretty reasonable, seeing as I got a guided tour for that price, which was both informative and fun. There was also a 20-minute presentation about what it was like to arrive at Pier 21 through the years when coming to Canada from Europe, which was really well done- despite the fact I had my audio in French for half of it due to a headphones mix-up! It was a fascinating look at the past, and I left wondering how different my life would have been if my ancestors had passed through that very building.

Following the museum, I headed next door to the market at Pavilion 22, which was full of souvenirs and things- I did notice some things that I intended to buy at some point… But I didn’t and kinda wish I had, they were a good price! Left there and headed down the boardwalk to soak up some of the sea air and summer sunshine, then headed for an explore of most of downtown, before heading back to the hostel for some lunch. Chilled out and made a couple of calls through Skype during the afternoon, before heading down to the kitchen around dinnertime to see if there was anything going on- bumped into Christine and Tanja, and we decided to head down to the Garrison Brewery to fill up a Growler (64 fl oz/1.9 litre bottle) of beer or two, for $8.50, which in Canada is a mental good price. I plumped for the Tall Ships Amber Ale, which, whilst not overwhelming, managed to be pretty flavoursome. Came back to the hostel and got through two growlers between three of us before deciding we wanted more, Unfortunately, by this time (9.30pm!) the brewery was closed, so we were left to go to the NSLC (Nova Scotia Liquor Commission) to get some bottled beer, which was less economical, but at the time, necessary. I went for the Propeller Brewery London Porter, which was dark, strong, and yet not very flavoursome. Had a couple of those, some food, then turned in for the night at a fairly respectable hour.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment